Zamfara State

  • Capital : Gusau
  • Governor : Abdul'aziz Abubakar Yari
  • ISO 3166 code : NG-ZA

Created on October 1, 1996, Zamfara state covers a total area of 39,762 km2 (15,352 sq mi) and has a total population of 3,278,873 as at the 2006 census. With an average population density of 82/km2 (213/sq mi) and a total GDP (2010) of $4,123 Million, at $1,237 Per Capita.

With an area of 38,418 square kilometres, Zamfara State is bordered in the North by Niger Republic, to the South by Kaduna State. In the east it is bordered by Katsina State and to the West by Sokoto and Niger States. The state is basically an agricultural state with over 80 percent of the people engaged in various forms of agriculture. Major agricultural products include millet, guinea corn, maize, rice, groundnut, cotton, tobacco and beans.

Zamfara State holds some tourist attractions which are of historical or religious importance. These include Jata, an ancient settlement of Zamfara located around the hill with a large cave around where traditional practices were performed. Zamfara State is mainly populated by Hausa and Fulani people, with some members of Gwari, Kamuku, Kambari, Dukawa, Bussawa and Zabarma ethnic communities. Others include the Igbo, Yoruba, Kanuri, Nupe and Tiv.

Major Towns:

  • Kaura-Namoda
  • Anka
  • Zuru
  • Talata-Marafa

State Governor

Zamfara state governor

Abdul'aziz Abubakar Yari is a politician active since 1999, who was elected Governor of Zamfara State, in the 26 April 2011 national elections, running on the All Nigeria Peoples Party (ANPP) platform.