Oyo State

  • Capital : Ibadan
  • Website : www.oyostate.gov.ng
  • Governor : Abiola Ajimobi
  • ISO 3166 code : NG-OY

Created on 3 February, 1976, Oyo state covers a total area of 28,454 km2 (10,986 sq mi) and has a total population of 5,580,894 as at the 2006 census. With an average population density of 200/km2 (510/sq mi) and a total GDP (2010) of $16,121 Million, at $2,666 Per Capita.

Oyo State covers approximately an area of 28,454 square kilometres and is ranked 14th by size. The landscape consists of old hard rocks and dome shaped hills, which rise gently from about 500 meters in the southern part and reaching a height of about 1,219 metre above sea level in the northern part. Some principal rivers such as Ogun River, Oba, Oyan, Otin, Ofiki, Sasa, Oni, Erinle and Osun River take their sources from this highland. It is bounded in the south by Ogun State and in the north by Kwara State, in the west is bounded partly by Ogun State and partly by the Republic of Benin while in the east it is bounded by Osun State.

The state is homogenous and comprises the Oyos, the Ibadans and the Ibarapas, all belonging to the Yoruba family and speaking the same Yoruba language. People from within and outside the country trade and settle in the state, mostly in the urban areas. The capital, Ibadan is reputed to be the largest city in Africa, south of the Sahara.

Major Towns:

  • Ogbomosho
  • Oyo
  • Lalupon
  • Ileto
  • Kisi

State Governor

Oyo state governor

Abiola Ajimobi (born 16 December 1949) is a politician from Oyo State in south-western Nigeria. He was was elected in 2003 as a Senator of the Republic of Nigeria representing Oyo South Senatorial District on the platform of the Alliance for Democracy (AD). He contested in the April 2011 elections under the Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN) and was elected Governor of Oyo State. Abiola Ajimobi also won the election on March 28, 2014 to continue in office for a second term.