Ondo State

Created on 3 February, 1976, Ondo state covers a total area of 15,500 km2 (6,000 sq mi) and has a total population of 3,440,000 as at the 2006 census. With an average population density of 220/km2 (570/sq mi) and a total GDP (2010) of $8,414 Million, at $2,392 Per Capita.

Ondo State was carved out of the old Western State as one of the seven states created on February 3, 1976. It is bounded by Kogi, Edo, Ogun, Osun and Ekiti States, the last of which was carved out of Ondo state on the 1st of October, 1996. Ondo State is a multi-ethnic state with the majority being Yoruba while there are also Arogbos and Akpois who are of Ijaw extraction and are mostly located in the riverine areas of the state.

Agriculture (including fishing) constitutes the main occupation of the people of the state. Indeed, Ondo state is the leading cocoa producing state, in Nigeria. Other agricultural products include yams, cassava and palm produce. Places of attraction in the state include the Ipole-Iloro Water falls, the Oke Maria at Oka-Akoko and the Aiyetoro Community Island

Major Towns:

  • Owo
  • Ondo
  • Ore
  • Akure
  • Oka-Akoko

State Governor

Ondo state governor

Olusegun Mimiko (Yoruba: Ọlúṣẹ́gun Mímikò; born 3 October 1954) is the current governor of Ondo State. Dr. Olusegun Mimiko is currently the first and only member of the Labour Party to win gubernatorial office in Nigeria. Governor Olusegun Mimiko also won the election on October 20, 2012 to continue in office for a second term.