Ogun State

  • Capital : Abeokuta
  • Website : www.ogunstate.gov.ng
  • Governor : Ibikunle Amosun
  • ISO 3166 code : NG-OG

Created on 3 February, 1976, Ogun state covers a total area of 16,762 km2 (6,472 sq mi) and has a total population of 3,751,140 as at the 2006 census. With an average population density of 7140/km2 (360/sq mi) and a total GDP (2010) of $10,470 Million, at $2,740 Per Capita.

Ogun State is a state in South-western Nigeria. It borders Lagos State to the South, Oyo and Osun states to the North, Ondo State to the east and the Republic of Benin to the west. Abeokuta is the capital and largest city in the state. Its natural resources include an extensive fertile soil suitable for agriculture and mineral deposits. The climate and soil of the state are suitable for the cultivation of a wide range of crops. The major food crops include rice, maize, cassava, yam and banana. The main cash crops include cocoa, kolanut, rubber, palm oil and palm kernels. Ogun State is one of the largest producers of kolanut in the country. It also produces timber and rubber on a large scale. About 20% of its total area is constituted of forest reserve suitable for livestock.

Cultural heritage in the state are many. Some leading traditional festivals observed include Olumo, Ogun, Igunnuko, Egungun, Gelede, Obalufon and Oro. The famous Olumo Rock is an interesting source of attraction to the tourist.

Major Towns:

  • Abeokuta
  • Sagamu
  • Ijebu-Ode
  • Ota
  • Aiyetoro

State Governor

Ogun state governor

Ibikunle Amosun (born 25 January 1958) is a Nigerian politician who was elected Senator for the Ogun Central district of Ogun State, Nigeria in April 2003. In April 2007 he made an unsuccessful bid to be elected governor of Ogun State. He ran for Governor again at 2011, and this time was elected on the Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN) platform.  Ibikunle Amosun  also won the election on March 28, 2014 to continue in office for a second term.