Nasawara State

Created on October 1, 1996, Nasawara state covers a total area of 27,117 km2 (10,470 sq mi) and has a total population of 1,869,377 as at the 2006 census. With an average population density of 75/km2 (190/sq mi) and a total GDP (2010) of $3,022 Million, at $1,588 Per Capita.

Nasarawa State is bounded in the north by Kaduna State, in the west by the Abuja Federal Capital Territory, in the south by Kogi and Benue States and in the east by Taraba and Plateau States. Nasarawa State has agriculture as the mainstay of its economy with the production of varieties of cash crops throughout the year. It is also contains minerals such as salt and bauxite.

Nassarawa State has the highest potentials in the nation for the development of a viable tourism industry. However, numerous of its potentials are yet to be fully tapped. The young state is richly endowed with scenic beauty and conspicuous features. Its temperate climate makes it a tourist centre. Lafia, the state capital has an enviable weather with a fascinating rocky environment.

Major Towns:

  • Lafia
  • Akwanga
  • Keffi
  • Nassarawa
  • Doma

State Governor

Nasarawa state governor

Umaru Tanko Al-Makura (August 1952) is a Nigerian businessman who was elected Governor of Nasarawa State, Nigeria on 26 April 2011, running on the Congress for Progressive Change (CPC) ticket. He was re-elected for a second term on April 11 2015