Lagos State

Created on May 27, 1967, Lagos state covers a total area of 8,547 km2 (5,310 sq mi) and has a total population of 9,013,534 as at the 2006 census. With an average population density of 1054/km2 (1697/sq mi) and a total GDP (2010) of $33,679 Million, at $3,649 Per Capita.

Lagos State is one of twelve states created in May 1967 - Prior to its emergence as a state - Lagos has served as the Federal Capital Territory. With an area of 3,577 square metres, the state is the smallest in the federation as it constitutes only 0.4% of the land mass-of the federation. The state is bounded in the north and east by Ogun State, in the west by Republic of Benin and in the south by the Atlantic Ocean.

While the State is essentially a Yoruba-speaking environment, it is a socio-cultural melting pot attracting both Nigerians and foreigners alike. Indigenous inhabitants include the Aworis and Eguns in Ikeja and Badagry Divisions respectively, with the Eguns being found mainly in Badagry. There is also an admixture of other pioneer settlers collectively known as the Ekos. The indigenes of Ikorodu and Epe Divisions are mainly the Ijebus with pockets of Eko-Awori settlers along the coastland and riverine areas.

Lagos is presently the economic base of Nigeria shouldering more than 65% of all business activities in the country.

Major Towns:

  • Ikorodu
  • Epe
  • Ikoyi
  • Ikeja
  • Apapa

State Governor

Lagos state governor

Akinwunmi Ambode (born June 14, 1963), a Nigerian businessman and activist is the Governor of Lagos State, Nigeria. He was formerly the Accountant-General of Lagos State, as well as other positions in the state's government. Ambode stood for election to the state governor's office in 2015 as a member of the All Progressives Congress, the state's ruling party. He won the election, defeating the second-place candidate by more than 150,000 votes. He began his tenure as the governor of Lagos on 29 May 2015.