Kwara State

Created on May 27, 1967, Kwara state covers a total area of 36,825 km2 (14,218 sq mi) and has a total population of 2,365,353 as at the 2006 census. With an average population density of 43/km2 (110/sq mi) and a total GDP (2010) of $3,841 Million, at $1,585 Per Capita.

Kwara State is bounded in the north by Niger State, in the south by Osun and Ondo States, in the east by Kogi and in the west by Oyo State and has international boundary with Benin Republic. Because of its unique geographical position, the State is referred to as the "gateway" between the north and the south of the country. Agriculture is the main source of the economy and the principal cash crops are: cotton, cocoa, coffee, Kola nut, tobacco, beniseed and palm produce. Mineral resources in the state are limestone, marble, feldspar, clay, kaolin, quartz and granite rocks.

In tourism, Kwara state possesses several fascinating historical and cultural monuments, which include the Esie Museum and Stone images at Esie, in Irepodun L.G.A. of the state. The stones were said to have been discovered in the 17th century. Others are the spectacular Owu Falls at Owa Kajola, in Ifelodun Local Government Area; the remains of Mungo Park's wrecked boat - the `D Spring' and Mungo Park's Monument both at Jebba, Okuta Ilorin, from where the capital was derived, the Jebba Dam which is one. of the major sources of hydro-electric power in the country.

Major Towns:

  • Jebba
  • Lafiagi
  • Ilorin
  • Esie
  • Pategi

State Governor

Kwara state governor

Abdulfatah Ahmed (born 29 December 1963) is a Nigerian banker and public servant who was elected Governor of Kwara State in 26 April 2011 elections, running on the All Progressives Congress (APC) platform.