Kano State

  • Capital : Kano
  • Website : www.kanostate.net
  • Governor : Dr Abdullahi Ganduje
  • ISO 3166 code : NG-KA

Created on May 27, 1967, Kano state covers a total area of 20,131 km2 (7,773 sq mi) and has a total population of 9,383,682 as at the 2006 census. With an average population density of 470/km2 (1,200/sq mi) and a total GDP (2010) of $12,393 Million, at $1,288 Per Capita.

Kano State came into existence on May 27, 1967. It is located within the extreme north-central part of the country and has its neighbours Katsina State to the north-west, Jigawa to the north-east, and Bauchi and Kaduna states to the south.

Historically, Kano State has been a commercial and agricultural state, which is known for the production of groundnuts as well as for its solid mineral deposits. The state has more than 18,684 square kilometres (7,214 sq mi) of cultivable land and is the most extensively irrigated state in the country.

Major Towns:

  • Kano
  • Dambatta
  • Gumei
  • Gwarzo
  • Hadeija

State Governor

Kano state governor

Abdullahi Umar Ganduje is a Nigerian politician. He is the Governor of Kano State, having been elected on 13 April 2015, and sworn in on 29 May 2015. He is also a former two-termDeputy Governor of Kano State, serving from 1999 to 2003 and 2011 to 2015 under the administration of Rabiu Kwankwaso.