Enugu State

Created on August 27, 1991, Enugu state covers a total area of 7,161 km2 (2,765 sq mi) and has a total population of 2,398,357 as at the 2006 census. With an average population density of 780/km2 ((2,000/sq mi) and a total GDP (2010) of $4,396 Million, at $1,169 Per Capita.

The name of State derives from its capital city, Enugu. The word "Enugu" (from Enu Ugwu) means "the top of the hill". Enugu State is one of the states in the eastern part of Nigeria. The state shares borders with Abia State and Imo State to the south, Ebonyi State to the east, Benue State to the northeast, Kogi State to the northwest and Anambra State to the west. The state is in the region of the tropical rain forest and the great oil belt of Nigeria. The annual rainfall ranges between 152cm to 203 cm.

Economically, the state is predominantly rural and agrarian, with a substantial proportion of its working population engaged in farming, although trading (18.8%) and services (12.9%) are also important. In the urban areas trading is the dominant occupation, followed by services. A small proportion of the population is also engaged in manufacturing activities, with the most pronounced among them located in Enugu, Oji, Ohebedim and Nsukka.

Major Towns:

  • Enugu
  • Nsukka
  • Oji-River
  • Awgu
  • Udi

State Governor

Enugu state governor

Lawrence Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi (popularly known as "Gburugburu") is a Nigerian politician who was elected the Executive Governor of Enugu State in April 2015 and was sworn in on 29 May 2015. He was a former member of the House of Representatives of the Federal Republic of Nigeria. He is a People's Democratic Party (PDP) member and represented Igboeze North/Udenu Federal Constinuency of Enugu State. Ugwuanyi was elected governor of Enugu State under the PDP.