Ekiti State

  • Capital : Ado Ekiti
  • Website : www.ekiti.com
  • Governor : Ayo Fayose
  • ISO 3166 code : NG-EK

Created on October 1, 1996, Ekiti state covers a total area of 6,353 km2 (2,453 sq mi) and has a total population of 2,398,357 as at the 2006 census. With an average population density of 377/km2 (977/sq mi) and a total GDP (2010) of $2,848 Million, at $1,169 Per Capita.

Edo State shares boundaries with four other states of the federation. It is bounded in the north by Kwara State, in the east by Kogi State, in the south by Ondo State and in the west by Osun State.

The State is mainly an upland zone, rising over 250 meters above sea level. It lies on an area underlain by metamorphic rock. It is generally undulating country with a characteristic landscape that consists of old plains broken by step-sided out-crops that may occur singularly or in groups or ridges.

The people of the state are Yorubas and they share the same cultural values with other Yorubas. The Ekitis are homogenous hard working people. Agriculture is the main stay of the economy of the people. A wide variety of cash crops and food crops are grown in Ekiti State. Some of the cash crops are cocoa, palm produce, timber and rubber. Ekiti state has a fair amount of mineral resources. These are kaolin, clay, cassiterite, tin ore, columbite, bauxite (aluminium ore), foundry sand, granite and elarconits.

Major Towns:

  • Ado
  • Ikere
  • Ode
  • Aramoko-Ekiti
  • Oye-Ekiti

State Governor

Ekiti state governor

Peter Ayodele Fayose (born 15 November 1960) is the current governor of Ekiti State in Nigeria . He was governor from 29 May 2003 to 16 October 2006