Borno State

Created on 3 February, 1976, Borno state covers a total area of 70,898 km2 (27,374 sq mi) and has a total population of 4,171,104 as at the 2006 census. With an average population density of 37/km2 (95/sq mi) and a total GDP (2010) of $5,175 Million, at $1,214 Per Capita.

There are two major vegetation zones in the state. The Sahel type in the North which is where most of the wheat in the state is produced and the Sudan Savannah type in the south which consists of shrubby vegetation interspersed with tall trees woodland.

Agriculture and livestock farming which are the main stay of the state's economy have vast developmental potentials. The State is rich in millet, rice, cassava, date palms, fruits vegetables, sorghum, wheat, sweet potatoes, cowpeas, sugar cane, groundnut, cotton, gum Arabic and many others.

There are also leather tanning, ornamental leather works, shoe making, glue and gelatine, horns, hooves and bones for export. The state is also blessed with abundant fishery resources. In the fishery sector there are dried fish, fishmeal for feed mills and fresh tend frozen meat.

Major Towns:

  • Dikwa
  • Maiduguri
  • Gwoza
  • Bama
  • Shani

State Governor

Borno state governor

Kashim Shettima (born 2 September 1966) is a Nigerian agricultural economist who was elected Governor of Borno State, Nigeriain the 26 April 2011 national elections, running on the All Nigeria People's Party (ANPP) platform, now part of the main opposition bloc, APC