Anambra State

  • Capital : Awka
  • Website :
  • Governor : Chief Willie Maduabuchukwu Obiano
  • ISO 3166 code : NG-AN

Created on August 27, 1991, Anambra state covers a total area of 4,844 km2 (1,870 sq mi) and has a total population of 4,055,048 as at the 2006 census. With an average population density of 840/km2 (2,200/sq mi) and a total GDP (2010) of $6,764 Million, at $1,615 Per Capita.

Anambra, an industrious state in Nigeria named after the Anambra River (Omambala). Located in the South-Eastern Nigeria, Anambra has boundaries with Kogi State in the north, River State in the south, Delta State in the west and Enugu State in the east.

The climate of the state allows for favourable cultivation and extraction of agricultural and forest products such as Oil Palm, Maize, Rice, Yam, Cassava, and Fish. Anambra is rich in natural gas, crude oil, bauxite, ceramic and has an almost 100 percent arable soil.

The indigenous ethnic group in Anambra state are the Igbo (98% of population) and a small population of Igala (2% of the population) who live in the North western part of the state. The industrious and hospitable people of the state are great industrialists, entrepreneurs, and craftsmen. Currently, Anambra State has the lowest poverty rate in Nigeria.

Major Towns:

  • Awka
  • Onitsha
  • Nnewi
  • Obosi
  • Ihiala
  • Ekwulobia

State Governor

Anambra state governor

Chief Willie Maduabuchukwu Obiano was sworn in on 17 March 2014 as the new governor after the expiration of the Peter Obi second term, haven won the 16 November 2013 election.